Mike “The Man” King

photo image

MMABeats: What is your Martial Arts/ Combat Sports Background?

Mike: My first wrestling match was when I was 4 years old and my last one was at age 18. I started kickboxing at age 17. my background in kickboxing and wrestling benefitted me when I started training in MMA.

MMABeats: Who would you say is your biggest influence in your MMA career and why?

Mike: My girlfriend. Because of her I started taking MMA seriously. She told me she saw something special in me and that made me want to do it to the very best of my ability and to make her proud.

MMABeats: How long have you been involved in MMA ?

Mike: My first amateur fight was in 2007. My first professional fight was in 2010.

MMABeats: What advice would you give a young fighter wanting to make MMA their career?

Mike: If you want to make a career of MMA take it seriously from day one. You only have so many years to train and fight. Make the most of those days.  Martial Arts is a strict lifestyle, and you must give it one hundred per cent

MMABeats: What is a typical training week like for you?

Mike: I have 12-14 training sessions a week. Two Boxing sessions, two grappling sessions and two kickboxing sessions. And then have three strenghtening/ conditoning sessions and three striking/pad work sessions a week depending on the opponent I will be facing. 

MMABeats: How long have you been fighting for CFA ?

Mike: I signed a five fight deal with them not to long ago that has a Zuffa clause which says i can sign with the UFC if i get an offer from them before my contract is up.

MMABeats: Would you like to give a shout out to anyone?

Mike: I would like to thank Titin Tech, Crossfit Redline, Herbalife, Fresh Start Entertainment, Signature Web Design, MMA Owl, @jayfreshstart , Zookies Bar and Grill.  I would like to give a special thanks to Ray Thompson and Stephen Thompson and Upstate Karate for inviting me to train and and making me feel like a part of their martial arts family as well as a part of their actual family.

Be sure to watch Mike King’s welterweight bout vs Oscar Delgado May 24, 2013 for CFA on @AXSTVfights and check out his website http://www.mikekingmma.com

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment